jump to navigation

How does a frogfish eat? 18 Jan 2010

Posted by cat64fish in Tales from the N2 bar.
trackback

The answer: One gulp at a time!

I’ve seen pictures of frogfish yawning before, but not of them eating. I suppose that the suction action is too fast for most photographers to capture. However, I had the luck to encounter a frogfish that bit off more than it could chew, so it took some time for it to swallow.

The series of pictures below say it all:


Head first is best!


Distend the stomach and … gulp!


… and again!


… and again!


Burp! Oh, excuse me, is my tail showing?

😀

Comments»

1. ria - 18 Jan 2010

Awesome!!

I feel full just looking at the photos 😛

2. Debby - 18 Jan 2010

Oh my gosh! What a greedy little frogfish!
That is one mean gut it’s got!

3. K! - 18 Jan 2010

Very nice Jeffiles!


Leave a comment