jump to navigation

The Semakau Project in the newspapers 17 Nov 2008

Posted by cat64fish in Land-lubber stories.
Tags: ,
trackback

I read with interest the big splash in the newspapers about Project Semakau, which was linked on the Wild Singapore site.

Semakau has had an interesting history – from fishing village, to refuge for Indonesian fishermen (back in the day when entering another nation’s territorial waters wasn’t that big a deal), and now, a “land anchor” for the Semakau Landfill.

I hope that the Semakau Project will not ignore the previous biodiversity work that had been done at Semakau, which includes:

– its reefs, past and present;

Semakau survey 2005

– the controversial New Scientist paper, and my comments on it, and my eternal hope that the reporters will write clearly about Semakau and distinguish between the Landfill and the natural island;

some photos that I took at Semakau (but no where near as prolific as Ria’s).

Team Seagrass’s work on the seagrass meadows at Semakau

I also hope that the Semakau Project takes note of the various groups and individuals (many of them on my blogroll) that have already put in time and effort on spreading the conservation message about our shores.

Here’s wishing them all the best in their efforts!

😀

Comments»

1. sam - 18 Nov 2008

u sounds so unconfident and put in a lot of hopes! Hope this, hope that….
In conservation, no efforts is ever wasted if it is meant to share, to educate, to enlighten,… in one way or another, it will contributes. relax a bit bro 🙂

2. cat64fish - 18 Nov 2008

Unsure what you mean in your post, but I guess I do hope too much.


Leave a comment