jump to navigation

Anemonefishes of Singapore 24 Jun 2011

Posted by cat64fish in Tales from the N2 bar.
trackback

Following from Daphne Fautin’s talk on anemones, there was a post by Debby on Hantu’s sea anemones. I didn’t notice it at first, but there was an image of the Black Saddleback Anemonefish Amphiprion polymnus! I’ve not seen it before in Singapore, and would be very interested to photograph it.

It got me thinking about what anemonefish species occur in Singapore though, and to my knowledge, this is the list:

1. Clark’s Anemonefish Amphiprion clarkii
I do not have an image from Singapore. The only individual I have seen in Singapore waters is from Raffles Lighthouse reef, many years ago (mid-1990s). I haven’t seen it since.

2. Red Saddleback Anemonefish Amphiprion ephippium
No image. I’ve never actually seen this one in the wild. Has been recorded from here though.

3. Tomato Clown Anemonefish Amphiprion frenatus
One of two common species on Singapore reefs, the other being Amphiprion ocellaris.
20100319_6370_Jeff_adj

4. Red and Black Anemonefish Amphiprion melanopus (no image)
No image. I’ve not seen this one myself, but it has been recorded from Singapore.

5. False clown Anemonefish Amphiprion ocellaris
The most common anemonefish species on our reefs.
20100319_6368_Jeff_adj

6. Black Saddleback Anemonefish Amphiprion polymnus
This image is from the Hantu Blog Flickr. I’ve not seen it myself, but will look out for it.
Saddleback anemonefish

7. Pink Anemonefish Amphiprion periderion *NEW*!!
Found one at Pulau Tekukor!
20121002_1914_adj

I’m not sure if the Spinecheek Anemonefish Premus biaculeatus has been seen in Singapore .. anyone know or have images?

Comments»

1. ria - 25 Jun 2011

Thank you for this blog post! Fascinating to know we still have different kinds of anemonefishes! Recently, the experts at EOL said this fish in my photo is NOT Amphiprion frenatus. But didn’t say what it is. What could it be? http://www.flickr.com/photos/wildsingapore/3499928499/ Thank you! Ria.

2. cat64fish - 26 Jun 2011

Hi Ria,

I replied on your Flickr, at the image you linked. I think your ID is correct. While I agree that a full body shot would be the “best” ID shot, we see this form often enough to know that it only has one bar (even the dark form of A. clarkii has two bars), and that the angle of the “forehead” is wrong for A. clarkii.

I think the image you linked has been taken out of the EOL site, too, so I would press for a better reply from Dr. Ricciadi, other than just a “misidentified” comment.

Cheers!

3. ria - 26 Jun 2011

Thank you Jeff!!


Leave a Reply

